Six complementary therapists honoured at 2017 Federation of Holistic Therapists Awards

Published 21st Nov 2017 by PB Admin
Six complementary therapists honoured at 2017 Federation of Holistic Therapists Awards

The event, now in its seventh year, was held at the historic Royal Pump Rooms in Leamington Spa on November 17 and awarded specialists in reflexology, sports treatments and cancer therapies.

Each winner was presented with a trophy, certificate and cheque for £250. The winners were:

  • FHT Complementary Therapist of the Year – Barbara Scott
    Scott took home the title for researching and developing a reflexology treatment protocol and training course that supports couples struggling to conceive. 

  • FHT Beauty Therapist of the Year – Cristina Coelho
    Coelho won for her commitment to providing holistic and person-centred treatments to clients with conditions impacting their skin health and self-esteem.

  • FHT Sports Therapist of the Year – Sheree Phelps
    Phelps was awarded for supporting the needs of a wide range of clients, from hospital surgeons to sports professionals, and for her commitment to professional development.

  • FHT Local Support Group Coordinator of the Year – Nicky Gee
    Gee was praised for her commitment to providing support and informative group meetings for local FHT members and the wider community in the Blackpool area.

  • FHT Student of the Year – Stacey Radcliffe
    Radcliffe stood out for her drive and commitment to completing a complementary therapy degree, despite multiple setbacks including serious ill-health. 

  • FHT Tutor of the Year – Lorraine Senior
    Senior was praised for developing a framework for qualified reflexologists to support children and adults with autism, learning difficulties and special educational needs.

Two FHT President’s Awards were also announced – the first in memory of Professor George Lewith for his outstanding contribution to integrated healthcare and the complementary therapy industry, and the second to Gill Morris for her outstanding contribution to the beauty therapy industry.

“These awards are designed to recognise excellence and provide just a small insight into how our members are helping to make a real difference to people living in our community,” said Paul Battersby, president of the FHT.

“All our winners should feel exceptionally proud to be selected from a vast number of other professionals who were nominated for an award, in a ceremony that is widely respected by the industry.”


PB Admin

PB Admin

Published 21st Nov 2017

Have all the latest news delivered to your inbox

You must be a member to save and like images from the gallery.