SEBTA 2013 judges announced

Jane Hiscock, Valerie Kay and Angie Sawicki have been named as the judging panel for the seventh annual Student Electrotherapy Beauty Therapist Award (SEBTA).

The award, run by beauty equipment company Carlton Professional, is designed to celebrate excellence in electrotherapy in the beauty industry and is open to students studying for Level 3 or above. It is not exclusive to colleges using Carlton Professional equipment.

Jane Hiscock is head of the Hairdressing and Beauty Therapy Training Academy at Peter Symonds College in Winchester and has been a beauty lecturer for NVQ and VRQ Levels 2 and 3 for over 25 years. She has authored ten student text books for NVQ Level 2 and NVQ Level 3 Beauty Therapy. She also works with VTCT as an examinations reviewer and is currently developing assessment materials for colleges.

Valerie Kay is chair of the Educational Giving Advisory Panel, and a Trustee for VTCT. She helps organise the WorldSkills UK competitions as lead judge for Level 3. She has also examined for IHBC and City & Guilds and been an external Verifier for VTCT and OCN.

Angie Sawicki is chairman of the judges and The Carlton Group’s trainer. She runs SEBTA, working closely with Carlton chairman Angela Barbagelata-Fabes.

(PICTURED: 2012 Sebta winner Julie Parr and her lecturer, Caroline Sheard, from New College Nottingham)