Warpaint Make-up Championships 2018 winners revealed

The most talented make-up artists in the business were crowned at the Warpaint Make-up Championships 2018 last weekend (February 25–26), which took place alongside the Professional Beauty London show.

Both aspiring and accomplished MUAs showcased their skills in make-up mastery in four different 1988-themed categories, designed to be in keeping with the Professional Beauty London show’s 30th birthday celebrations.

Judges were impressed by the high calibre of entries this year, stating that both pro and student MUAs demonstrated real skill and creativity in their interpretation of theme, application of products, use of colour and overall impact.

A special award, The College Cup, was also given to the highest-placing college across the competition categories.

The winners and runners up for each category are:

Theme: 1988 – the summer of love; acid house and the rave generation

Professional category winners:

First: Sophia Attias
Second: June Waller
Third: Karen Huwen

Student category winners:

First: Kimberly Nieuwerth, ROC Makeup Art College Zuid Amsterdam
Second: Eloise Challis, East Coast College
Third: Poppy Newdick, City College Norwich
Highly commended: Stephanie Harrison, University College Birmingham

Theme: Christian Lacroix

Professional category winners:

First: Candice Lloyd
Second: Kerry Astill
Third: Rachel McDonald

Student category winners:

First: Abigail McBroom, East Coast College
Second: Annaliese Durrent, City College Norwich
Third: Megan Mayhew, City College Norwich

Real Beauty
Theme: Spring Wedding 1988

Professional category winners:

First: Kate Walker
Second: Ramune Loseva

Student category winners:

First: Anke ter Heide, ROC Makeup Art College Zuid Amsterdam
Second: Lesley White, East Coast College
Third: Kelly Scott, East Coast College
Highly commended: Emma Bird, City College Norwich

Film & TV
Theme: character from a 1988 Oscar-nominated movie

Student category winners:

First: Astrid Hughes, ROC Makeup Art College Zuid Amsterdam
Second: Maryana Dimitrova-Lazarova, East Surrey College
Third: Ceris Walton, City College Norwich

Rising Star

Winner: Anke ter Heide, ROC Makeup Art College Zuid Amsterdam

Pro Artist

Winner: Candice Lloyd

College Cup

Winner: ROC Makeup Art College Zuid Amsterdam

See who scooped the top titles at the Professional Beauty Awards 2018, including our Make-up Specialist of the Year winner, here. Also, find out why it was a record year for brands at the 2018 Professional Beauty London show